Archive for February, 2012

Midseason NHL award predictions

Posted in Canucks-related, Flyers-related on February 1, 2012 by wechslerh66

My two-minute midseason NHL award predictions, off the top of my head because analysis & reflection are for baseball fans:

Hart Trophy: winner: Malkin; runnerup: Giroux
Malkin has James Neal, Giroux has Scott Hartnell. Both teams are arguably overachieving based on their current rosters (e.g. without Crosby or Pronger). Malkin has the better +/-, Giroux more meaningfully has the tougher minutes. I suspect Malkin will win simply because Giroux’s scoring will drop off and because, barring an injury, Malkin can be red hot for a few more weeks, though I would probably vote for Giroux if his offensive numbers are remotely close to Geno’s.

Norris Trophy: winner: Chara; runnerup: Weber (Shea, not Yannick) or Duncan Keith
Chara has won it before & his team is even better as the defending Stanley Cup winner & nobody wins just one (unless you’re Randy Carlyle—or, actually, Chris Pronger). Weber would win if he were in Boston. If Ottawa fans could vote, I suspect Karlsson would win.

Vezina Trophy: winner: Lundqvist; runnerup: T. “Party” Thomas
Lundqvist is the Rangers’ Justin Verlander and arguably the most underrated player in the NHL, which is difficult to do in New York. Thomas, Quick, Howard, and (smaller sample size) Rask are all having outstanding years, but 22-10-4, .937, 1.87, 5 SO is embarrassingly good. He’s only 13th in minutes, though (behind Quick and Howard, but not Thomas or obviously Rask).

Also worth noting, per Cam Charron:

Lundqvist rookie season (age 23): 30-12-9, .922, 2.24, 2 SO, 3112 MIN, 12.2 GPS
Bobrovsky rookie season (age 22): 28-13-8, .915, 2.59, 3017 MIN, 9.4 GPS

FWIW, Bryzgalov rookie season (age 25): 13-12-1, .910, 2.51, SO, 1575 MIN, 5.1 GPS

Why you heff to take up so much cap space??

Adams Trophy: winner: Ken Hitchcock; runnerup: Dan Bylsma
I would probably vote for Claude Julien, but Hitchcock’s 23-6-7 record as coach of the Blues (6-7-0 before he took over) is more of what the Adams Trophy tends to mean. Darryl Sutter’s 9-2-6 record with the Kings would also count with more games played.

Calder Trophy: winner: Adam Henrique; runnerup: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins
Henrique has 4 ShG for a team whose home games begin before 9:30 EST, and should probably win anyway, plus The Nuge will end up missing a few months of extra powerplay opportunities. Long term I would probably take The Nuge or Couturier because of the age difference, but it’s close (as is the age difference; Henrique is only 22 himself). Cody Hodgson (also 22) could end up winning it with a few hot months.

Lady Byng Trophy: winner: Dan Carcillo; runnerup: Alexei Ponikarovsky
#13 won’t accumulate a single penalty minute between now & the end of the season, & I enjoy writing “Ponikarovsky.” Seriously, Datsyuk or St. Louis or Selanne will probably win, but who fucking cares.