Meanwhile the Nordiques

I don’t know French, which means I’m forced to read what’s apparently one of the better Montreal Canadiens blogs out there, En Attendant Les Nordiques, through Google Translate.

(OK, I’m not technically forced to read it because no one forces me to read hockey blogs, and because I’m not a bleu, blanc et rouge Habs fan, but I am a hockey fan and, quoth the Hip, a Completist, so I do.)

I also know Olivier’s a pretty decent writer from his (no translation required) comments on other hockey blogs I read, but without knowing French, I can’t comment on how much more or less amusing any of his writeups would be without the Franglish translation (i.e. if I actually spoke real French). With Google Translate, however, we’re definitely approaching Phil Rizzuto territory. A few recent examples:

“Martin quickly asked Gomez to play firefighters. No offense against Staal and death in the third. Misery.”

“The Bruins fought like moths and Thomas would not hear. Be. Great defensive withdrawal around it, it must also be noted.”

“Gomez finds his momentum and against the third Ranger, it was rather simple, anything very productive. He has solid fat in the third when Martin was allowed to warm trio Plek. Eller was incisive, I think it shows how much he has improved over last year, when he was lost to the wing.

“Otherwise it is easy to panic, they are really strong in the third folded, but it was not the bitch maneuvers.”

On the one hand, I feel like half a hockey fan, and hockey blogger, without knowing French or being able to read Olivier in his native (more coherent) language. On the other hand, how much more colourful can hockey writing be– well, unless you know Slovene, anyway.

Leave a Reply

